Polo Times Magazine Subscribe to Polo Times Home
HomeNewsTournamentsClassifiedsAbout usSubscribeContact

Thu 19th Oct 2017

VIII Ladies Circuit Championship

Centauros La Aventura and La Varzea claim titles

The final matches of the VIII Ladies Circuit Championships took place on Monday 16 October on the AAP grounds in Pilar. The Championship was divided into a high and a low goal section with four teams taking part in the high goal and seven in the low goal. The standard of polo was exceedingly good and with little more than two goals in it, Centauros La Aventura took the high goal title 9-7 against La Varzea Rei do Caviar. 

In the low goal, La Varzea championed both Zone A and B, and won their final match against Martiendale Las Tacuaras 7-4, to be crowned low goal champions. The success of this tournament, and the large number of entries, reflects the global increase in the popularity of ladies polo. To this end, it has also been announced that for the first time in history and with the full support of the Argentine Association of Polo, a ladies category has been introduced into the prestigious Argentine Open tournament, the biggest polo competition in the world. This year open teams will compete for the first ever Ladies Argentine Open after the Subcommittee created by the AAP, introduced this exciting new project. So far, four teams have been confirmed for the inaugural Argentine Women’s Open. There are also potentially two more teams yet to be confirmed at the time of going to press. The two main teams have been confirmed as La Dolfina and Ellerstina and are made up as follows:
La Dolfina: Nina Clarkin, Mia Cambiaso, Candelaria Fernández Araujo & Milagros Fernández Araujo
Ellerstina: Hazel Jackson, Lía Salvo, Sarah Wiseman & Clara Cassino
The tournament gets underway on 21 November and will take place at the same time as the men’s Argentine Open, when the world’s eyes are turned to Argentina, and best of all the Final will be played prior to the men’s Final on the sacred grounds of Palermo. Polo Times will be covering this exciting event, so subscribe now by clicking here, so as not to miss out.
The VIII Ladies Circuit Championship Teams:
High Goal
Centauros La Aventura (18): Delfina Balzano (4), Fátima Balzano (4), Mía Novillo Astrada (4) & Candelaria Fernández Araujo (6)
La Varzea Rei do Caviar (18): Milagros Sánchez (4), Camila Rossi (5), Annabel Mc Naught Davis (6) & Ginevra D´Orazio (3)
La Dolfina (18): Olivia Merlos (1), Mía Cambiaso (5), Milagros Fernández Araujo (6) & Clara Cassino (6 )
La Vanguardia Kía (15): Luba Atanassova Adarska (0), Jeanine Hugo (4), Lía Salvo (9) & Martina Gadea (2)
Low Goal
La Varzea (6): Katherina Courreges (1), Elina Braun (1), Jazmín Dupont (1) & Alexia Laprida (3)
Martindale Las Tacuaras (6): Clara Heguy (0), Alejandra Rohm (1), Martina Gadea (2) & Verónica Guerrero (3)
La Cañada Rei do Caviar (6): Juana Zucchi (0), Verónica Posse (1), Ann Rodger (2) Clelia Crespo (3)
La Sofía (4): Victoria Banchero (0), Silke Olscher (1), Maitena Marré (1) & Cornelia Haeufele (2)
La Victoria Área 60 (6): Sofía Sciutto (1), María Laura Calderoli (1), Julia Leiggener (1) & Iara Reynoso (3)
Puesto Viejo Miguel Acuña (6): Amparo Condomí Alcorta (0), Valeria Dorantti (1), Mercedes Prario (3) & Lucía Junqueira (2)
San Jorge (5): Romina Galiano (0), Lorena Ojeda Cáceres (1), Mónica Ganley (2) & Guadalupe Strada (2)
Photograph: Fátima Balzano takes to the field for Centauros La Aventura. By Matías Callejo

Follow Polotimes on Twitter

Other top stories

Fri 24th Nov 2017
HPA National Club Championships 1-3 Goal
Schedule and Teams Announced

Thu 23rd Nov 2017
Women’s Argentine Open
Historic tournament is underway

Tue 21st Nov 2017
Cambiaso’s 100th Argentine Open Match
Busy weekend of big scores in Argentine Open

Wed 15th Nov 2017
SUPA AGM Confirms 2018 Schedule
Dates and locations for 2018 events

Tue 14th Nov 2017
Argentine Open Match Updates
Results from the third and fourth days of the competition

Mon 13th Nov 2017
Coronation Cup Venue Change
RCBPC will be the new home of the prestigious trophy

Fri 10th Nov 2017
King Power to Sponsor The Gold Cup
New sponsor for key UK tournament

Thu 9th Nov 2017
AAP Educate the Masses
Palermo welcomes local students

Mon 6th Nov 2017
124th Argentine Open HSBC Polo Championship Begins
Alegría lead the Zone B rankings

Fri 3rd Nov 2017
124th Argentine Open HSBC Polo Championship
Presentation of the teams

Wed 1st Nov 2017
Argentine Update
What’s been happening in Argentina?

Mon 30th Oct 2017
Hurlingham Open Final
Ellerstina snatch victory from the jaws of defeat

Sun 29th Oct 2017
FIP Championships Finale
Argentina snatch victory from Chile in seventh chukka cliffhanger

Sat 28th Oct 2017
Chile and Argentina in Main Final
XI FIP World Polo Championships

Fri 27th Oct 2017
Argentine Update
Action from La Aguada and Pilar

Thu 26th Oct 2017
Chile and New Zealand Progress
XI FIP World Polo Championships

See all news in:

End of Polo Times news page

Advertiser information Contact us Subscribe Work for us All information is subject to copyright 2015


Latest Classified

Latest Classified

Head Groom Head Groom Required Prudhoe X is a polo breeding and training operation...
 Get into Polo

Get started in polo

Information on how to get started in polo
 Destination of the Month

The global game

Holidays and breaks playing or following polo around the world

Online magazine

Login to read current and back issues of the magazine
 Find your nearest club

Club contacts

Find your nearest polo club
Cookies in Use