Polo Times Magazine Subscribe to Polo Times Home
HomeNewsTournamentsClassifiedsAbout usSubscribeContact
 
 
 
 

Mon 21st Aug 2017

HPA Handicap News

22 goal 2018 handicaps announced

As we have reported previously, following the HPA Handicap Committee meeting on Wednesday 26 July, the HPA has introduced separate handicaps for the 22 goal for 2018. This means a player could be rated differently in the 22 goal (higher, lower or the same) as other levels. For international tournaments or overseas the highest handicap will apply. 

The HPA has also announced the 22 goal handicap changes, which applies to all 22 goal players, including subs from The Queen’s Cup and Gold Cup. A full list of changes can be viewed on the HPA website by clicking here, but a synopsis is as below:
 
22 Goal Increases:
Tincho Merlos & Nicolás Pieres: 8 to 9
Ollie Cudmore: 5 to 6
Tommy Beresford & Mín Podestá: 4 to 5
Hugo Lewis & Jack Hyde: 3 to 4
Jimbo Fewster & Hugo Taylor: 1 to 2
Ned Hine & Will Harper: 0 to 1
 
22 Goal Decreases:
Pelon Stirling: 10 to 9
Magoo Laprida & Fred Mannix: 8 to 7
John Paul Clarkin: 7 to 6
George Hanbury: 3 to 2
Alessandro Bazzoni: 1 to 0
 
As we upload this newsletter the Victor Ludorum 18 to 8 goal handicap meeting (those who played in The Prince of Wales, The Warwickshire and the VL 18, 15, 12 and 8) was underway, but results had not been announced. Until these are released it will be unclear who has a different 22 goal handicap to other levels. We will report on these as soon a they are in the public domain, so please keep an eye on the Polo Times website and social media for updates.
It is worth noting that all of these changes are subject to ratification by HPA Stewards after the ‘End of Season (remaining players) meeting’ on Friday 15 September and the handicaps will then become effective on the 1st January 2018.

Follow Polotimes on Twitter
 

Other top stories


Sat 23rd Sep 2017
Polo Times Is Out Now!
October issue of Polo Times

Fri 22nd Sep 2017
What’s On This Weekend
Polo near you

Wed 20th Sep 2017
The Armis Polo Helmet
The next generation of polo technology

Tue 19th Sep 2017
End of Season Handicaps
HPA announces changes

Mon 18th Sep 2017
Argentine Update
Jockey Club Ends and Tortugas Begins

Fri 15th Sep 2017
What’s On This Weekend
Polo near you

Thu 14th Sep 2017
John Tylor and Willie Hancock Memorials
Details of events

Wed 13th Sep 2017
CBC Sport Arena Polo World Cup Azerbaijan
Home team win the Gold

Tue 12th Sep 2017
Polo Legends John Tylor and Willie Hancock have passed away


Mon 11th Sep 2017
East Coast Open Final
Father and son duo secure title

Fri 8th Sep 2017
5th CBC Sport Arena Polo World Cup Azerbaijan
Teams presented to the world’s press

Thu 7th Sep 2017
San Jorge Open Final
Valiente La Dolfina beat La Natividad

Tue 5th Sep 2017
National Youth Tournament Series Championship
Reigning champions take home the Cecil Smith Cup

Mon 4th Sep 2017
Have Your Say!
Your views on the big issues

Fri 1st Sep 2017
What’s On
Polo near you this weekend

Thu 31st Aug 2017
2018 Helmet Regulations
The HPA releases new information

Tue 29th Aug 2017
Triple Crown About to Begin
Argentine Season Dates

Sat 26th Aug 2017
Polo Times Is Out Now!
September issue of Polo Times

Fri 25th Aug 2017
What’s On
Polo this weekend

See all news in:


End of Polo Times news page

Advertiser information Contact us Subscribe Work for us All information is subject to copyright 2015

Highlights

Latest Classified

Latest Classified

Horse Box 6 horse lorry, tack area, full years MOT 07772349962
 Get into Polo

Get started in polo

Information on how to get started in polo
 Destination of the Month

The global game

Holidays and breaks playing or following polo around the world
 Wallpapers

Online magazine

Login to read current and back issues of the magazine
 Find your nearest club

Club contacts

Find your nearest polo club
Cookies in Use