Polo Times Magazine Subscribe to Polo Times Home
HomeNewsTournamentsClassifiedsAbout usSubscribeContact
 
 
 
 

Wed 9th Aug 2017

Youth Polo Update

The Rocksavage and Jorrocks Finals

The British Junior Polo Championships Rocksavage Series Final took place at Cirencester Park Polo Club today, with the Lutheridge team managing to overcome Longdole Polo Club in a nail-biting game to win the match in the pouring rain. Aleksander Horvat’s pony Tosquita won the Polo Times Best Playing Pony Award. 

 
The Pony Club Championship’s youngest series came to a head today at Hurtwood Park Polo Club. The Jorrocks series saw nine teams, 11-years-old and under, take part in the annual tournament for a plethora of prizes and awards. 
The Jorrocks name derives from the editor, novelist and sporting writer Robert Smith Surtees who wrote his contributed to the comic paper Jorrocks’, Jaunts and Jolities, published in 1838. The character Jorrocks was a sporting cockney grocer known for his good-natured artfulness.
The results of the Jorrocks tournament are as follows:
 
Division One
1st – Grafton
2nd – Cotswold
3rd – Cowdray
 
Division Two
1st – Crawley & Horsham 1
2nd – Royal Artillery
3rd – Hampshire Hunt
 
Division Three
1st – Cotswold Vale Farmers
2nd – Beaufort
3rd – Crawley & Horsham 2
 
The Best Turned Out Prize – The Hampshire Hunt, for their matching hats, bandages and tape!
 
The Best Girl Player – Ava Greenlands from Cowdray
 
The Rupert Thorneloe Award for the Best Boy Player – Billy Barlow
 
Tik-Tak Trophy – Lucas Murphy from Cotswold Vale Farmers
 
The Polo Times Best Playing Pony – Ginja Ninja, owned and played by Rosie Talbot-Rice

Photograph: The Lutheridge team win the Rocksavage Final in the British Junior Polo Championships

Follow Polotimes on Twitter
 

Other top stories


Sat 23rd Sep 2017
Polo Times Is Out Now!
October issue of Polo Times

Fri 22nd Sep 2017
What’s On This Weekend
Polo near you

Wed 20th Sep 2017
The Armis Polo Helmet
The next generation of polo technology

Tue 19th Sep 2017
End of Season Handicaps
HPA announces changes

Mon 18th Sep 2017
Argentine Update
Jockey Club Ends and Tortugas Begins

Fri 15th Sep 2017
What’s On This Weekend
Polo near you

Thu 14th Sep 2017
John Tylor and Willie Hancock Memorials
Details of events

Wed 13th Sep 2017
CBC Sport Arena Polo World Cup Azerbaijan
Home team win the Gold

Tue 12th Sep 2017
Polo Legends John Tylor and Willie Hancock have passed away


Mon 11th Sep 2017
East Coast Open Final
Father and son duo secure title

Fri 8th Sep 2017
5th CBC Sport Arena Polo World Cup Azerbaijan
Teams presented to the world’s press

Thu 7th Sep 2017
San Jorge Open Final
Valiente La Dolfina beat La Natividad

Tue 5th Sep 2017
National Youth Tournament Series Championship
Reigning champions take home the Cecil Smith Cup

Mon 4th Sep 2017
Have Your Say!
Your views on the big issues

Fri 1st Sep 2017
What’s On
Polo near you this weekend

Thu 31st Aug 2017
2018 Helmet Regulations
The HPA releases new information

Tue 29th Aug 2017
Triple Crown About to Begin
Argentine Season Dates

Sat 26th Aug 2017
Polo Times Is Out Now!
September issue of Polo Times

Fri 25th Aug 2017
What’s On
Polo this weekend

See all news in:


End of Polo Times news page

Advertiser information Contact us Subscribe Work for us All information is subject to copyright 2015

Highlights

Latest Classified

Latest Classified

Horse Box 6 horse lorry, tack area, full years MOT 07772349962
 Get into Polo

Get started in polo

Information on how to get started in polo
 Destination of the Month

The global game

Holidays and breaks playing or following polo around the world
 Wallpapers

Online magazine

Login to read current and back issues of the magazine
 Find your nearest club

Club contacts

Find your nearest polo club
Cookies in Use