Polo Times Magazine Subscribe to Polo Times Home
HomeNewsTournamentsClassifiedsAbout usSubscribeContact
 
 
 
 

Mon 24th Aug 2015

First public match for East Coast Open 2015

High goal teams battle it out for prestigious American trophy

On Sunday 23 August, in the first public match of the competition, the 20 goal Audi team (Marc Ganzi, Miguel Novillo Astrada, Nic Roldan and Juancito Bollini) beat KIG (Bash Kazi, Valerio Zubiaurre, Mariano Obregon and Pelon Escapite) 11-6 in the third game of the East Coast Open. The first chukka ended 5-1 after some notable play from Marc Ganzi, but in the later chukkas it was his teammate Nic Roldan who stole the show, at one point scoring his fourth goal to bring the score 7-4 to Audi.

On Wednesday 19 August, The United States Polo Association and Greenwich Polo Club hosted the draw of the 2015 East Coast Open at Shreve, Crump & Low on Greenwich Avenue, Connecticut. Guests were surrounded by the latest Audi models, sponsors, players, UPSA and Greenwich Polo Club officials. The draw included a team from sponsors Audi, featuring 9 goal Argentine player Miguel Novillo Astrada, and also a White Birch team. White Birch have a long history with Greenwich Polo Club, having started as a team composed of Peter M. Brant (the owner of GPC), Bennie Gutierres and Horace Laffaye (plus an additional player dependant on the handicap of the tournament. This team were undefeated for three seasons in low and medium goal competition – it will soon be seen if their modern high goal counterparts (Santino Magrini, Hilario Ulloa, Mariano Aguerre and Peter Brant) can live up to their reputation.

 

Photograph: Nic Roldan, seen here for Thai Polo, is contesting the East Coast Open for Audi. By ©www.imagesofpolo.com

 


Follow Polotimes on Twitter
 

Other top stories


Sat 27th May 2017
Polo Times June Issue Out Now
Read all about the latest polo news, reports

Fri 26th May 2017
Festival of Electric Bicycle Polo
Longdole Polo Club holds event in aid of Watershed RDA

Thu 25th May 2017
Cartier Queen’s Cup
The 2017 tournament is underway

Wed 24th May 2017
The Copenhagen Cup
Record number of school teams competed

Tue 23rd May 2017
Victrix Ludorum
Six ladies 12-18 goal tournaments throughout the season

Mon 22nd May 2017
RH Polo Show Winning Form
Victory in the Prince of Wales bodes well for season

Fri 19th May 2017
Latest from the HPA regarding Visas


Fri 19th May 2017
Hurlingham Polo 1875 & HPActive
The HPA premiers it’s clothing brand to the world

Thu 18th May 2017
Prince of Wales Trophy
The world’s best battle it out for victory

Wed 17th May 2017
2017 Triple Crown
Confirmed and classification teams announced

Tue 16th May 2017
SUPA Summer Junior National Championships
Hot weather and top action

Mon 15th May 2017
Jaeger LeCoultre Trippetts Series
Play gets under way in the 22 Goal

Fri 12th May 2017
Polo Awards 2017
Don’t miss out on tickets

Thu 11th May 2017
Shandur Polo Festival
Polo on top of the world

Wed 10th May 2017
Cartier Queen’s Cup Draw
Play to start in two weeks time

Tue 9th May 2017
Royal Salute Coronation Cup
Tickets Are Now Available Online

Mon 8th May 2017
England and Spain on the way to Sydney
FIP Zone C Playoff results

Fri 5th May 2017
England and Spain win their first FIP XI Championship Playoffs
Day One of the FIP XI World Championship Zone C playoffs got off to a flying start at The Polo Club du Domain du Chantilly.

Thu 4th May 2017
USA Take the Fifth Spot at FIP XI World Championships
Team USA beat both Guatemala and Mexico to convincingly secure their spot at the FIP XI World Polo Championship in Sydney, Australia this October.

Wed 3rd May 2017
Polo Times Out This Week!
May Issue of Polo Times

Tue 2nd May 2017
Cartier Queen’s Cup Teams Officially Announced
22 Goal UK Season Teams Ready and Raring

See all news in:


End of Polo Times news page

Advertiser information Contact us Subscribe Work for us All information is subject to copyright 2015

Highlights

Latest Classified

Latest Classified

One of the South of England's premier stud farms Stud buildings including: Stud...
 Get into Polo

Get started in polo

Information on how to get started in polo
 Destination of the Month

The global game

Holidays and breaks playing or following polo around the world
 Wallpapers

Online magazine

Login to read current and back issues of the magazine
 Find your nearest club

Club contacts

Find your nearest polo club
Cookies in Use