Polo Times Magazine Subscribe to Polo Times Home
HomeNewsTournamentsClassifiedsAbout usSubscribeContact
 
 
 
 

Wed 10th Apr 2013

England lose to South Africa in Copa de las Naciones

A strong South Africa side gets the better of England at Palermo

ENGLAND WAS DEFEATED by South Africa on the opening day of the 22-goal Copa de las Naciones.

The England team of Luke and Mark Tomlinson, Ollie Cudmore and Matt Perry faced a South Africa side of Jean and Nachi du Plessis, Dirk van Reenen and Chris Mackenzie, who defeated them 14-10 at Palermo, Buenos Aires.

England took an early lead and were 4-2 up going into the third chukka. But South Africa turned up the heat, pulling the score back to 6-6 by half-time and taking control in the second half of the match.

Three teams are taking part in the round-robin tournament. England will play Argentina – Diego Cavanagh, Peter Falabella, Martin Joaquin and Manuel Plaza de Ayala – on Thursday (11 April). Argentina will then play South Africa on Saturday 13 April, to decide the winner.

England will be looking for revenge when they take on South Africa on home ground in the first Audi international Test Match of the season, at Beaufort Polo Club on 15 June.

Photograph: Luke and Mark Tomlinson. Courtesy of Audi


Follow Polotimes on Twitter
 

Other top stories


Wed 28th Sep 2016
Day One of The Tortugas Open
Triple Crown Begins

Mon 26th Sep 2016
Polo Times Out This Week
October Overflowing with All Things Polo

Thu 22nd Sep 2016
End of Season Handicaps
Juan Martin Nero Goes Back to 10

Wed 21st Sep 2016
Tortugas Open Schedule
Triple Crown Begins Next Week

Tue 20th Sep 2016
Sunny Spanish Beach Polo
Tarifa Beach Polo World Cup 2016

Mon 19th Sep 2016
French Open Finals
Mixed and Ladies’ Opens

Thu 15th Sep 2016
Argentine Season Begins at the Jockey Club
52nd EL Jockey Club Open DS Automobiles for the Fernet Branca Cup

Tue 13th Sep 2016
The Open de France Has Begun
Plenty of Brits Crossed the Channel to Play

Mon 12th Sep 2016
Bogner Claim World Cup Honours in Baku, Azerbaijan
CBC Sport Arena Polo World Cup Azerbaijan 2016

Sun 11th Sep 2016
Semi Final Action in Baku
CBC Sport Arena Polo World Cup Azerbaijan 2016

Fri 9th Sep 2016
First Day of Play in Azerbaijan
CBC Sport Arena Polo World Cup Azerbaijan 2016

Fri 9th Sep 2016
RoR Racing to Polo Challenge
New Classes and Plenty of Entries for 2016

Thu 8th Sep 2016
CBC Sport Arena Polo World Cup Azerbaijan 2016
Teams Arrive in Baku for 4th Arena World Cup

Mon 5th Sep 2016
Ireland Triumphant
FIP European Championships

See all news in:


End of Polo Times news page

Advertiser information Contact us Subscribe Work for us All information is subject to copyright 2015

Highlights

Latest Classified

Latest Classified

Private Equestrian Facility to Rent Sole use of 3 large stables with water feeders,...
 Get into Polo

Get started in polo

Information on how to get started in polo
 Destination of the Month

The global game

Holidays and breaks playing or following polo around the world
 Wallpapers

Online magazine

Login to read current and back issues of the magazine
 Find your nearest club

Club contacts

Find your nearest polo club
Cookies in Use