Polo Times Magazine Subscribe to Polo Times Home
HomeNewsTournamentsClassifiedsAbout usSubscribeContact
 
 
 
 

Wed 10th Apr 2013

England lose to South Africa in Copa de las Naciones

A strong South Africa side gets the better of England at Palermo

ENGLAND WAS DEFEATED by South Africa on the opening day of the 22-goal Copa de las Naciones.

The England team of Luke and Mark Tomlinson, Ollie Cudmore and Matt Perry faced a South Africa side of Jean and Nachi du Plessis, Dirk van Reenen and Chris Mackenzie, who defeated them 14-10 at Palermo, Buenos Aires.

England took an early lead and were 4-2 up going into the third chukka. But South Africa turned up the heat, pulling the score back to 6-6 by half-time and taking control in the second half of the match.

Three teams are taking part in the round-robin tournament. England will play Argentina – Diego Cavanagh, Peter Falabella, Martin Joaquin and Manuel Plaza de Ayala – on Thursday (11 April). Argentina will then play South Africa on Saturday 13 April, to decide the winner.

England will be looking for revenge when they take on South Africa on home ground in the first Audi international Test Match of the season, at Beaufort Polo Club on 15 June.

Photograph: Luke and Mark Tomlinson. Courtesy of Audi


Follow Polotimes on Twitter
 

Other top stories


Thu 23rd Feb 2017
Time to Get Booking
St. Moritz & Hickstead Tickets

Wed 22nd Feb 2017
Polo Times Out This Week!
March issue of Polo Times

Mon 20th Feb 2017
Arena Gold Cup Update
Double Loss for K-Law Imperial

Fri 17th Feb 2017
England International Dates for 2017 Announced
England to do battle at Guards and Beaufort

Thu 16th Feb 2017
Ylvisaker Finalists Decided
Final to be played on Sunday

Tue 14th Feb 2017
Ylvisaker Semi Finalists
Semi Finals scheduled for tomorrow

Mon 13th Feb 2017
Exclusive Rooms Secure Victory
Images of Polo 5-8 Goal Victor Ludorum

Fri 10th Feb 2017
Polo Masters Cup Underway
Dubai Gold Cup Continues

Thu 9th Feb 2017
Arena Gold Cup Schedule
Teams and times announced

Wed 8th Feb 2017
Ylvisaker Cup Update
Quarter Final qualifiers

Tue 7th Feb 2017
McLaren Cup 2017
Victory for UAE Polo

Mon 6th Feb 2017
A Trio of Finals
Jam-packed schedule at the RCBPC

Thu 2nd Feb 2017
WPC, Zone D Playoff Results
New Zealand vs Malaysia

Sun 29th Jan 2017
Cartier Reclaim Title
Snow Polo World Cup St. Moritz 2017

Sat 28th Jan 2017
Second day of action from The Snow Polo World Cup St. Moritz
Team Badrutt’s Palace and Team Cartier are the winners today of the second matches of the Snow Polo World Cup St. Moritz 2017

Fri 27th Jan 2017
Snow Polo World Cup Starts
Polo action on the frozen lake of St.Moritz

Fri 27th Jan 2017
Home Office Agreed Visa Criteria
Good news for high and medium goal, but low goal still affected

Thu 26th Jan 2017
Visa Update
David Wooodd explains the latest developments

Wed 25th Jan 2017
Polo Times Out This Week
Watch out for the February issue

See all news in:


End of Polo Times news page

Advertiser information Contact us Subscribe Work for us All information is subject to copyright 2015

Highlights

Latest Classified

Latest Classified

7.5 Tonne 4 horse and Tack Ford Iveco. 7.5 Tonne 4 horse polo lorry with tack...
 Get into Polo

Get started in polo

Information on how to get started in polo
 Destination of the Month

The global game

Holidays and breaks playing or following polo around the world
 Wallpapers

Online magazine

Login to read current and back issues of the magazine
 Find your nearest club

Club contacts

Find your nearest polo club
Cookies in Use