Polo Times Magazine Subscribe to Polo Times Home
HomeNewsTournamentsClassifiedsAbout usSubscribeContact
 
 
 
 

Fri 11th Jul 2008

American player dies whilst out jogging

Bobby Barry, son of Roy M Barry, the American 9-goaler died in Santa Barbara yesterday (Thursday 10 July). Bobby had a glittering polo career including wins of the Butler Handicap, the CV Whitney, Heritage, Continental, President's, Centennial, Inter-Circuit and North American Cups. He was also a finalist in the US Open.

According to reports Bobby and his friend Rick Sears were walking and jogging in Santa Barbara with their respective daughters. Bobby had gone on ahead, and when the rest of his party reached him he had collapsed and died. We will post further details as we get them.


Follow Polotimes on Twitter
 

Other top stories


Thu 23rd Mar 2017
USPA Gold Cup
Finalists Decided

Wed 22nd Mar 2017
SUPA Ladies
National Schools Ladies Arena Championships

Tue 21st Mar 2017
Polo Times Out This Week!
April issue of Polo Times

Tue 14th Mar 2017
USPA Gold Cup Has Begun
Wins for Valiente and Orchard Hill

Mon 13th Mar 2017
Equine Liquid Biocell Wins Iglehart Cup
La Indiana Narrowly Defeated in Thrilling Final

Fri 10th Mar 2017
Iglehart Cup Finalists decided
La Indiana and Equine Liquid Biocell to face each other on Sunday 12 March in the Final of the Iglehart Cup at International Polo Club, Palm Beach

Tue 7th Mar 2017
Home Office Agreed to Reduce Restrictions
Visa Update from HPA

Tue 28th Feb 2017
In Memory of Sunny Hale
Remembering a Polo Pioneer

See all news in:


End of Polo Times news page

Advertiser information Contact us Subscribe Work for us All information is subject to copyright 2015

Highlights

Latest Classified

Latest Classified

POLO GROOMS Several positions available at a leading Polo yard in Berkshire. ...
 Get into Polo

Get started in polo

Information on how to get started in polo
 Destination of the Month

The global game

Holidays and breaks playing or following polo around the world
 Wallpapers

Online magazine

Login to read current and back issues of the magazine
 Find your nearest club

Club contacts

Find your nearest polo club
Cookies in Use