Polo Times Magazine Subscribe to Polo Times Home
HomeNewsTournamentsClassifiedsAbout usSubscribeContact

Mon 4th Dec 2023

La Natividad Secure Second Title

The 130th Argentine Open

The 130th Argentine Open Final was delayed by a day due to rain, but nothing could dampen the atmosphere on Sunday 3 December as two mighty polo organisations – La Natividad and La Dolfina – faced each other in the highly anticipated re-match of the 2022 Final in which La Dolfina triumphed. Could they retain the title for another year or would La Natividad fight back? 
The final match was closely contested and with both teams frequently swapping the lead, the first half featured dynamic play, few fouls, and closely matched line-ups. The score remained tied, and when one team led, it was only by one or two goals. Many in the crowd considered the possibility of an additional chukka.
In the sixth chukka, La Natividad took the lead by outscoring La Dolfina Saudi 3-0, making it 10-7. However, La Dolfina Saudi staged a comeback in the next chukka, tying the game at 10-10 with one chukka remaining.
The final chukka unfolded with anticipation. Pablo Mac Donough, later named Most Valuable Player, scored two crucial goals, giving La Natividad a 12-10 lead with three minutes left. Despite efforts from La Dolfina Saudi, the match was sealed by Facundo Pieres, who scored a pivotal goal in the last seconds of regulation time. La Natividad secured the title of champions in The 130th Argentine Open with a 13-10 score. 
Cuartetera B06 Clon, played by Adolfo Cambiaso received The BPP Lady Susan Townley Cup and Dolfina Roxy, also played by Adolfo Cambiaso, won The Best Polo Argentino Bred, presented by the Argentine Polo Pony Breeders Assn. and Sociedad Rural Argentina Award. 
A full report will be included in the December 2023/ January 2024 issue of Polo Times – click here to purchase a gift subscription today. 
The 130th Argentine Open Final Teams:
La Natividad (39): Facundo Pieres (9), Jeta Castagnola (10), Pablo Mac Donough (10) & Barto Castagnola (10)
La Dolfina Saudi (40): Adolfo Cambiaso (10), Pelon Stirling (10), Poroto Cambiaso (10) & Juan Martín Nero (10)
Photograph: La Natividad, winners of The 130th Argentine Open. By Matías Callejo / Prensa AAP

Follow Polotimes on Twitter

Other top stories

Mon 19th Feb 2024
47th NZ Polo Open
Win for Team Brinks

Sun 18th Feb 2024
U.S. Women’s Open Championship Final Delayed
New date yet to be announced by USPA

Fri 16th Feb 2024
What’s On This Weekend?
Plenty of polo action across the globe

Tue 13th Feb 2024
Arena Gold Cup Begins This Week
Opening match: Ojo Caliente vs Tchogan PP

Mon 12th Feb 2024
C.V. Whitney Cup Weekend Results
Opening wins for Coca-Cola, Tamera, Park Place & La Dolfina

Tue 6th Feb 2024
2024 U.S. Open Women's Polo Championship Underway
Eight teams competing over 4 – 18 February

Mon 5th Feb 2024
Habtoor Secure IFZA Silver Cup
Undefeated run to the Final

Thu 1st Feb 2024
Gauntlet of Polo Draw
Action kicks off on Friday 9 February

Mon 29th Jan 2024
Joe Barry Memorial Final
Forbes Plunkett narrowly beat BTA 9-8

Sun 28th Jan 2024
Mackage clinch Snow Polo World Cup St. Moritz
Lidia Gauss becomes only the second lady player to win the tournament in its 39 year history

Sat 27th Jan 2024
Spectacular second day in St. Moritz
Mackage & The Kusnacht Practice secure their spot in tomorrow’s Final

Fri 26th Jan 2024
First day of skilled action
The Snow Polo World Cup St. Moritz 2024

See all news in:

End of Polo Times news page

Advertiser information Contact us Subscribe Work for us All information is subject to copyright 2015


Latest Classified

Latest Classified

Great Garden Flat close to Ascot/ Guards/ RCBPC APR/MAY to JULY Glorious 2 bedroom...
 Get into Polo

Get started in polo

Information on how to get started in polo
 Destination of the Month

The global game

Holidays and breaks playing or following polo around the world

Online magazine

Login to read current and back issues of the magazine
 Find your nearest club

Club contacts

Find your nearest polo club
Cookies in Use