Polo Times Magazine Subscribe to Polo Times Home
HomeNewsTournamentsClassifiedsAbout usSubscribeContact

Mon 7th Jan 2013

Coca-Cola retains Herbie Pennell Cup

The first tournament of the US high-goal season concludes at Palm Beach with a win for Coca-Cola

COCA-COLA LIFTED the Herbie Pennell Cup for the second year when they beat Villa Del Lago 13-12 yesterday at International Polo Club Palm Beach (IPCPB).

Gillian Johnston's Coca-Cola team, which also featured Sugar Erskine, Julio Arellano and Tommy Collingwood maintained a narrow lead for much of the game but an equaliser by Villa Del Lago's Augustin Obregon sent the match into overtime. A goal by Arellano secured the win for Coca-Cola, for the second year running.

The final of the Herbie Pennell Cup marked the opening of the high-goal season at IPCPB. The second tournament, the 20-goal Joe Barry Memorial Cup, gets underway on Thursday (10 January), with 14 teams entered.

Photograph: The Coca-Cola team celebrating their victory. (By Alex Pacheco)

Follow Polotimes on Twitter

Other top stories

Mon 19th Mar 2018
Argentex Habtoor UAE Reign Triumphant in Dubai
Flannels England miss out

Fri 16th Mar 2018
Iglehart Cup Final
Pilot make a strong comeback

Thu 15th Mar 2018
2018 San Eugenio Ladies Cup
Six teams are confirmed

Mon 12th Mar 2018
Julius Bar Gold Cup 2018
Bin Drai win the title

Thu 8th Mar 2018
Queen's Cup Pink Polo
La Familia take home the glory

Tue 6th Mar 2018
Major Iain Forbes-Cockell
We announce his passing

Mon 5th Mar 2018
Flannels England lifts the trophy high
HPA International Test Match for the Bryan Morrison Trophy

Thu 1st Mar 2018
Hurlingham Polo Association International Test Match for the Bryan Morrison Trophy
Venue and Time Change

Wed 28th Feb 2018
The 13th Annual Polo Awards 2018
Tickets are now on sale

Tue 27th Feb 2018
Ylvisaker Cup Final
Valiente seal the deal

Mon 26th Feb 2018
Arena Gold Cup Final
SAPA MHF Docklands and Glitterati Polo take home the crown

Fri 23rd Feb 2018
Polo Times is Out Now!
March issue of Polo Times

Wed 21st Feb 2018
2018 Arena Gold Cup Update
Regal Warriors, Ojo Caliente, SAPA Docklands Polo & HB Polo through to the Semi Finals

See all news in:

End of Polo Times news page

Advertiser information Contact us Subscribe Work for us All information is subject to copyright 2015


Latest Classified

Latest Classified

15.2hh 8 yr Polo Pony (Argentine x US thoroughbred) Lovely 8yr 15.2hh Bay Polo...
 Get into Polo

Get started in polo

Information on how to get started in polo
 Destination of the Month

The global game

Holidays and breaks playing or following polo around the world

Online magazine

Login to read current and back issues of the magazine
 Find your nearest club

Club contacts

Find your nearest polo club
Cookies in Use