Polo Times Magazine Subscribe to Polo Times Home
HomeNewsTournamentsClassifiedsAbout usSubscribeContact
 
 
 
 

Mon 7th Oct 2019

Xtreme Polo Final

Ellerstina secure inaugural title

On a beautifully sunny Sunday, the inaugural Xtreme Polo League culminated at the Alfredo Lalor Headquarters in Pilar. This is the first professional polo league in the world, a vision of Juan Zavalia Paunero, which saw six teams between 29 to 34 goals compete.

The first match of the day was for third place, between La Aguada and La Albertina, which ran over into an extra chukka – Alfredo Bigatti secured the golden goal for La Aguada, who ran out the winners 11-10.
Next up was the historic Final between Ellerstina, with an impressive Castagnola/Pieres line-up, and Las Monjitas. It was a closely fought Final, but in the end Ellerstina raised the trophy with a 15-12 win. Bartolomé Castagnola was named the Most Valuable Player and Chalo Lolli Pop, played by Castagnola was awarded the Best Playing Pony of the Final.
The Xtreme Polo League Final Teams:
Ellerstina (33): Camilo Castagnola (6), Polito Pieres (10), Bartolomé Castagnola (7) & Facundo Pieres (10)
Las Monjitas (34): Facundo Sola (9), Hilario Ulloa (10), Guillermo Caset (10) & Tomás Panelo (5)
 
Photograph: Ellerstina, winners of the inaugural Xtreme Polo League. Courtesy of AAP/Matias Callejo

Follow Polotimes on Twitter
 

Other top stories


Wed 16th Oct 2019
Tortugas Open
Play set to resume today

Mon 14th Oct 2019
Tortugas Open Delayed
Rain causes Semi Final delays

Thu 10th Oct 2019
Tortugas Open Begins
Las Monjitas and Ellerstina secure first wins

Wed 9th Oct 2019
Ladies Handicap Changes
HPA releases End of Season list

Tue 8th Oct 2019
HPA 2019 Helmet Regulation
Updated approved list

Mon 7th Oct 2019
Xtreme Polo Final
Ellerstina secure inaugural title

Sat 5th Oct 2019
HPA End of Season Handicapping Note
Outstanding Club submissions

Fri 4th Oct 2019
No Deal Brexit & Polo
Government guidelines

Thu 3rd Oct 2019
The Junior Argentine Open
La Natividad win the title

Mon 30th Sep 2019
Tournoi d’Autumne Ends
French season continues

Fri 27th Sep 2019
Polo Times Reader Offer
Paddock Power – the perfect field nutrition

Thu 26th Sep 2019