Polo Times Magazine Subscribe to Polo Times Home
HomeNewsTournamentsClassifiedsAbout usSubscribeContact
 
 
 
 

Fri 19th Jan 2018

2018 Thai Polo Open

Semi Final Action

The Semi Finals of the most important polo tournament in South East Asia, the Thai Polo Open, took place on Thursday 18 January at Thai Polo & Equestrian Club, in Pattaya, Thailand. The opening game saw the highest rated team Axus, come up against close rivals Fast Fish. Brian Xu’s Axus came out the victors with a 6-4 win, to take the first Final spot of the weekend. In the second match, two Malaysian teams came up against each other for the second coveted spot. Royal Pahang and La Familia were evenly matched from the first throw-in. Following a flurry of goals in the dying minutes, Royal Pahang defeated La Familia 5-5½ securing their spot in Saturday’s Final at 4.30pm (local time). The fifth place match will take place at 4pm (local time) and will see Thai Polo take on 22BR.

The 2018 Thai Polo Open Semi Final Teams:
Royal Pahang (13): HH Tengku Muhammad (0), HH Tengku Amir Nasser (1), Tomas Gandara (5) & Tomasito F. Llorente (7)
Axus (12): Brian Xu (0), Diego Gomez (3), Damian Marcos (3) & Dario Musso (6)
Fast Fish (12): Winson Rao (0), Rodrigo Bauzada (3), Miguel Diaz (5) & Nico Pieroni (4)
La Familia (12): Mohamed Moiz (1), Shaik Reismann (2), Agustin Andrada (4) & Gines Bargallo (5)
 
Photograph: Axus secured the coveted first spot in the 2018 Thai Polo Open Final, swiftly followed by Royal Pahang. By Santiago Young

Follow Polotimes on Twitter
 

Other top stories


Fri 25th May 2018
Polo Times Is Out TODAY!
June Issue of Polo Times

Wed 23rd May 2018
The Cartier Queen’s Cup Gets Underway
Talandracas, La Indiana, RH Polo and Emlor take the charge

Tue 22nd May 2018
Win For HB La Forge
The La Martina Queen Elizabeth The Queen Mother’s Centenary Trophy

Mon 21st May 2018
The Hai Air Prince of Wales Trophy
Monterosso steal the crown

Wed 16th May 2018
Prince of Wales Update
Cambiaso, Laprida and Jornayvaz comply

Mon 14th May 2018
HelmetGate
Valiente go against HPA ruling

Fri 11th May 2018
The Royal Windsor Horse Show
2018 Polo Pony Show Classes

Thu 10th May 2018
USA Handicap Changes
The USPA has announced the 2018 April changes

Wed 9th May 2018
Statement from the Hurlingham Polo Association
Visa Situation and Tournament Conditions Addressed

Tue 8th May 2018
The Cartier Queen’s Cup Draw
Teams and schedule announced

Mon 7th May 2018
Gloucestershire Festival of Polo
Beaufort Polo Club announces its exhibitors

Sat 5th May 2018
Prince of Wales Teams Announced
Teams and fixtures announced in the UK high goal tournament

Fri 4th May 2018
Arena Handicap Changes
HPA announce the end of season handicap changes

Thu 3rd May 2018
Sixth Annual Arena Polo World Cup Azerbaijan
Polo returns to Baku

Wed 2nd May 2018
Argentine Update
News from South America

Mon 30th Apr 2018
A New Face in the UK High Goal
Cortium returns to the 22 Goal

See all news in:


End of Polo Times news page

Advertiser information Contact us Subscribe Work for us All information is subject to copyright 2015

Highlights

Latest Classified

Latest Classified

DAF LH55.180 HORSE BOX 2006(06) This is a recent quality conversion to carry 9/10...
 Get into Polo

Get started in polo

Information on how to get started in polo
 Destination of the Month

The global game

Holidays and breaks playing or following polo around the world
 Wallpapers

Online magazine

Login to read current and back issues of the magazine
 Find your nearest club

Club contacts

Find your nearest polo club
Cookies in Use