Polo Times Magazine Subscribe to Polo Times Home
HomeNewsTournamentsClassifiedsAbout usSubscribeContact
 
 
 
 

Wed 25th Sep 2013

Alegria wins Tortugas Open opening match

The Argentine Triple Crown got underway yesterday with the first match at Tortugas Country Club

ALEGRIA DEFEATED LA AGUADA yesterday, in the first match of the Tortugas Open.

The team of Polito Pieres, Hilario Ulloa, Lucas Monteverde and Fred Mannix started with the match with a commanding 4-1 lead after the first chukka and continued to dominate throughout the seven-chukka game, to win 13-8.

The La Aguada line-up of Guillermo Terrera, Facundo Sola and Miguel and Ignacio Novillo Astrada closed the gap to three goals in the fifth chukka, but Alegria upped their game to extend their lead once more.

The 40-goal Tortugas Open, which is the first tournament of the Argentine Triple Crown, cotinues today with division B teams La Natividad and La Aguada Las Monjitas in action. La Aguada will face defending champions Ellerstina on Saturday 28 September, with Alegria playing them on Saturday 5 October.

To view a full list of teams, fixtures and results from the Tortugas Open please click here.

Photograph: Canadian eight-goaler Fred Mannix, who plays for Alegria. By Polly Bryan


Follow Polotimes on Twitter
 

Other top stories


Fri 20th Oct 2017
What’s On This Week and Looking Further Ahead
Polo near you

Thu 19th Oct 2017
VIII Ladies Circuit Championship
Centauros La Aventura and La Varzea claim titles

Wed 18th Oct 2017
The Hurlingham Open Final Gets Closer
La Albertina and La Dolfina Polo Ranch progress through

Tue 17th Oct 2017
VIII Copa Novillitos
14 childrens team gather at La Aguada Polo Club

Mon 16th Oct 2017
Argentine Update
Hurlingham's third day of play

Thu 12th Oct 2017
Polo Times Is Out Next Week!
November issue of Polo Times

Wed 11th Oct 2017
The Hurlingham Action Continues
Strong starts for La Dolfina, Ellerstina, La Aguada Las Monjitas and Alegría

Mon 9th Oct 2017
La Dolfina Win Again
It’s five years on the trot the 40 goal giants

Sat 7th Oct 2017
All Pro Polo League Make History
World’s eight 10 goalers to compete

Fri 6th Oct 2017
The Hurlingham Open 2017
The tournament begins today

Thu 5th Oct 2017
Tortugas Final
Ellerstina to play La Dolfina at Palermo

Mon 2nd Oct 2017
Visa Update
Letter from AAP to FIP

Fri 29th Sep 2017
FIP XI World Championships
The teams have been announced

Mon 25th Sep 2017
Argentine Update
Tortugas Open & Torneo Remonta y Veterinaria

Sat 23rd Sep 2017
Polo Times Is Out Now!
October issue of Polo Times

Fri 22nd Sep 2017
What’s On This Weekend
Polo near you

See all news in:


End of Polo Times news page

Advertiser information Contact us Subscribe Work for us All information is subject to copyright 2015

Highlights

Latest Classified

Latest Classified

 Get into Polo

Get started in polo

Information on how to get started in polo
 Destination of the Month

The global game

Holidays and breaks playing or following polo around the world
 Wallpapers

Online magazine

Login to read current and back issues of the magazine
 Find your nearest club

Club contacts

Find your nearest polo club
Cookies in Use