Polo Times Magazine Subscribe to Polo Times Home
HomeNewsTournamentsClassifiedsAbout usSubscribeContact
 
 
 
 

Fri 25th Jan 2013

England off to good start in China

The FIP Snow Polo World Cup is now underway at Tianjin in China

ENGLAND WON THE opening match against the USA at the FIP Snow Polo World Cup.

The England team of George Meyrick, Oli Hipwood and James Harper defeated the USA side of Robert Yackley, Alan Martinez and Mika Azzaro 4-2 in their first group match. England will now face New Zealand in their second group match tomorrow. 

Defending champions Hong Kong and South Africa were the other winners on day one of the 16-goal tournament. Hong Kong defeated Brazil 7-4 and South Africa had a comfortable 7-3 win over India.

Twelve teams are contesting the world cup, which is sanctioned by the FIP for the second year and held at Tianjin Goldin Metropolitan Polo Club.

Group matches will continue until Monday 28 January. The final will take place on 3 February.

Photograph: England (in white) and the USA in action today


Follow Polotimes on Twitter
 

Other top stories


Sat 22nd Jul 2017
The Jaeger-LeCoultre Gold Cup
Itís exhibitors aplenty at Cowdray Park Polo Club

Fri 21st Jul 2017
Whatís On
This weekendís fixtures

Thu 20th Jul 2017
Polo Times Is Out Next Week!
August issue of Polo Times

Wed 19th Jul 2017
The Jaeger-LeCoultre Gold Cup Final teams are confirmed
King Power and El Remanso seal their spots

Tue 18th Jul 2017
British Junior Polo Championship
The championship commences

Mon 17th Jul 2017
All Change For Gold Cup
Hanbury vs Hanbury, Pieres & Pieres vs Pieres

Fri 14th Jul 2017
Thai Polo Club Ladies International for the Diamond Jubilee Trophy
The teams have been announced

Thu 13th Jul 2017
The Jaeger-LeCoultre Gold Cup Continues
Teams fight for their spot in the Quarter Finals

Wed 12th Jul 2017
India Secure their Place
Zone E Play-Offs for FIP XI World Polo Championship

Tue 11th Jul 2017
The Guards La Aguada International Youth Tournament
The futureís bright for polo

Mon 10th Jul 2017
British Beach Polo Championships
Sand, sun and fun at Sandbanks

Thu 6th Jul 2017
Tally Ho Polo Festival
Entries closing soon

Wed 5th Jul 2017
ZŁrich International Polo Ladies Cup
18 years of female champions

Tue 4th Jul 2017
The Royal Salute Coronation Cup Teams
The teams have been announced

Mon 3rd Jul 2017
Jaeger-LeCoultre Gold Cup Action Continues
Thrills, spills and young Brit players galore

Fri 30th Jun 2017
Whatís On
This weekendís fixtures

Thu 29th Jun 2017
Your Club News
Whatís going on in your neck of the woods?

Wed 28th Jun 2017
The Jaeger-LeCoultre Gold Cup First Round
Results from the first round

Tue 27th Jun 2017
The Jaeger-LeCoultre Gold Cup
Play starts today

Mon 26th Jun 2017
The Kings Head Hotel Ladies International
Convincing win for Swarovski England ladies

Fri 23rd Jun 2017
Polo Times Out This Week!
July issue of Polo Times

See all news in:


End of Polo Times news page

Advertiser information Contact us Subscribe Work for us All information is subject to copyright 2015

Highlights

Latest Classified

Latest Classified

Polo / Hunting Lorry Horsebox 7.5 tonne Stalled for 4 to 5 Interior lights Double...
 Get into Polo

Get started in polo

Information on how to get started in polo
 Destination of the Month

The global game

Holidays and breaks playing or following polo around the world
 Wallpapers

Online magazine

Login to read current and back issues of the magazine
 Find your nearest club

Club contacts

Find your nearest polo club
Cookies in Use