Polo Times Magazine Subscribe to Polo Times Home
HomeNewsTournamentsClassifiedsAbout usSubscribeContact
 
 
 
 

Fri 25th Jan 2013

England off to good start in China

The FIP Snow Polo World Cup is now underway at Tianjin in China

ENGLAND WON THE opening match against the USA at the FIP Snow Polo World Cup.

The England team of George Meyrick, Oli Hipwood and James Harper defeated the USA side of Robert Yackley, Alan Martinez and Mika Azzaro 4-2 in their first group match. England will now face New Zealand in their second group match tomorrow. 

Defending champions Hong Kong and South Africa were the other winners on day one of the 16-goal tournament. Hong Kong defeated Brazil 7-4 and South Africa had a comfortable 7-3 win over India.

Twelve teams are contesting the world cup, which is sanctioned by the FIP for the second year and held at Tianjin Goldin Metropolitan Polo Club.

Group matches will continue until Monday 28 January. The final will take place on 3 February.

Photograph: England (in white) and the USA in action today


Follow Polotimes on Twitter
 

Other top stories


Wed 29th Mar 2017
Dubai Challenge Cup
Finalists Decided

Tue 28th Mar 2017
SUPA Tri-Nations
England Triumph

Mon 27th Mar 2017
Victorious Valiente
USPA Gold Cup Win for Tournament Favourites

Thu 23rd Mar 2017
USPA Gold Cup
Finalists Decided

Wed 22nd Mar 2017
SUPA Ladies
National Schools Ladies Arena Championships

Tue 21st Mar 2017
Polo Times Out This Week!
April issue of Polo Times

Tue 14th Mar 2017
USPA Gold Cup Has Begun
Wins for Valiente and Orchard Hill

Mon 13th Mar 2017
Equine Liquid Biocell Wins Iglehart Cup
La Indiana Narrowly Defeated in Thrilling Final

Fri 10th Mar 2017
Iglehart Cup Finalists decided
La Indiana and Equine Liquid Biocell to face each other on Sunday 12 March in the Final of the Iglehart Cup at International Polo Club, Palm Beach

Tue 7th Mar 2017
Home Office Agreed to Reduce Restrictions
Visa Update from HPA

See all news in:


End of Polo Times news page

Advertiser information Contact us Subscribe Work for us All information is subject to copyright 2015

Highlights

Latest Classified

Latest Classified

Gelding Played PC polo last two years in loriner and Langford . Has played low...
 Get into Polo

Get started in polo

Information on how to get started in polo
 Destination of the Month

The global game

Holidays and breaks playing or following polo around the world
 Wallpapers

Online magazine

Login to read current and back issues of the magazine
 Find your nearest club

Club contacts

Find your nearest polo club
Cookies in Use