Polo Times Magazine Subscribe to Polo Times Home
HomeNewsTournamentsClassifiedsAbout usSubscribeContact
 
 
 
 

Fri 25th Jan 2013

England off to good start in China

The FIP Snow Polo World Cup is now underway at Tianjin in China

ENGLAND WON THE opening match against the USA at the FIP Snow Polo World Cup.

The England team of George Meyrick, Oli Hipwood and James Harper defeated the USA side of Robert Yackley, Alan Martinez and Mika Azzaro 4-2 in their first group match. England will now face New Zealand in their second group match tomorrow. 

Defending champions Hong Kong and South Africa were the other winners on day one of the 16-goal tournament. Hong Kong defeated Brazil 7-4 and South Africa had a comfortable 7-3 win over India.

Twelve teams are contesting the world cup, which is sanctioned by the FIP for the second year and held at Tianjin Goldin Metropolitan Polo Club.

Group matches will continue until Monday 28 January. The final will take place on 3 February.

Photograph: England (in white) and the USA in action today


Follow Polotimes on Twitter
 

Other top stories


Thu 21st Jun 2018
What’s Happening in the British Season
The news from across the country

Mon 18th Jun 2018
Third Time’s the Charm for La Indiana
The Cartier Queen’s Cup Final

Fri 15th Jun 2018
The King Power Gold Cup for The British Open Polo Championship
The draw is announced

Thu 14th Jun 2018
The Cartier Queen’s Cup Semi Finals
Park Place and La Indiana Through to the Final

Tue 12th Jun 2018
Cartier Queen’s Cup
Semi Finalists decided following Quarter Finals

Mon 11th Jun 2018
Flannels England Lift the Golden Jubilee Trophy
Gloucestershire Festival of Polo

Fri 8th Jun 2018
What’s On This Weekend
The polo season in full swing

Thu 7th Jun 2018
HACKETT Army Welcomes First Female Player for Rundle Cup
Captain Jess Wood to start at Tidworth

Wed 6th Jun 2018
Flannels England International Teams
This weekend’s teams announced

Mon 4th Jun 2018
Cartier Queen’s Cup Update
Play continues at Guards Polo Club

Fri 1st Jun 2018
APPL Comes to England
Cowdray to welcome 40 goal match

Thu 31st May 2018
Polo Awards 2018
Results from the 13th ‘Oscars of Polo’

Fri 25th May 2018
Polo Times Is Out TODAY!
June Issue of Polo Times

Wed 23rd May 2018
The Cartier Queen’s Cup Gets Underway
Talandracas, La Indiana, RH Polo and Emlor take the charge

See all news in:


End of Polo Times news page

Advertiser information Contact us Subscribe Work for us All information is subject to copyright 2015

Highlights

Latest Classified

Latest Classified

Ben Hastie Photography Ben Hastie Photography - Equine & Countryside Photography...
 Get into Polo

Get started in polo

Information on how to get started in polo
 Destination of the Month

The global game

Holidays and breaks playing or following polo around the world
 Wallpapers

Online magazine

Login to read current and back issues of the magazine
 Find your nearest club

Club contacts

Find your nearest polo club
Cookies in Use