Polo Times Magazine Subscribe to Polo Times Home
HomeNewsTournamentsClassifiedsAbout usSubscribeContact
 
 
 
 

Tue 15th Jan 2013

SUPA arena team defeated by USA

The USA prove too strong for SUPA Britain in California

THE USA CLAIMED victory over the British SUPA team in the international arena Test Match, at Empire Polo Club, California this weekend.

The SUPA university team of Alex Jacob from Royal Agricultural College, Sam Browne of the University of Cambridge and University College London's Charlie Scott and George Shelton were defeated by the USA Intercollegiate team, 18-8.

This was the first time SUPA have fielded an international arena team, and despite thrashing the University of South California 29-0 just days before the Test Match, the USA proved too strong for the British university side.

The team was coached by eight-goaler Sebastian Dawnay, who later won the Townsend Cup as part of the England team.

Photograph: The SUPA team with coach Seb Dawnay and SUPA chairman Charles Betz. By Lynn and Jim Bremner of PoloZONE.com


Follow Polotimes on Twitter
 

Other top stories


Fri 23rd Jun 2017
Polo Times Out This Week!
July issue of Polo Times

Wed 21st Jun 2017
RoR Racing to Polo Challenge
Recognition for second career polo ponies

Tue 20th Jun 2017
Hydration Advice
Hot tips for the heatwave

Mon 19th Jun 2017
Queen’s Cup Win for RH Polo
Cambiaso Dictates Result

Fri 16th Jun 2017
What’s On
This weekend’s fixtures

Thu 15th Jun 2017
The Cartier Queen’s Cup Semi Finals
La Indiana and RH Polo are through to the Final

Wed 14th Jun 2017
The Polo Magazine is Out This Week!
Summer issue of The Polo Magazine

Tue 13th Jun 2017
The 2017 Jaeger-LeCoultre Gold Cup Draw
10 teams are drawn at Old Bond Street

Mon 12th Jun 2017
Gloucestershire Festival of Polo
Thousands flock to Beaufort Polo Club

Fri 9th Jun 2017
Your Views on Blocking
A call for the rule to be amended

Thu 8th Jun 2017
The Cartier Queen’s Cup Update
A game-changing Wednesday in Berkshire

Wed 7th Jun 2017
Jam-Packed June
La Martina Varsity Polo Day results, SUPA dates & Javier Novillo Astrada U15 Cup

Tue 6th Jun 2017
Telemark 2-4 Goal Carlito’s White Waltham Polo Club
In aid of Cancer Research

Mon 5th Jun 2017
Queen’s Cup Update
The war for the Semi Finals continues

Fri 2nd Jun 2017
What’s On
This weekend’s fixtures

Thu 1st Jun 2017
Cartier Queen’s Cup Update
Action from the last week of matches

Wed 31st May 2017
Polo Awards 2017
Results from the 12th ‘Oscars of Polo’

Tue 30th May 2017
International Test Match Update
Flannels England and Ireland teams announced

Sat 27th May 2017
Polo Times June Issue Out Now
Read all about the latest polo news, reports

Fri 26th May 2017
Festival of Electric Bicycle Polo
Longdole Polo Club holds event in aid of Watershed RDA

Thu 25th May 2017
Cartier Queen’s Cup
The 2017 tournament is underway

See all news in:


End of Polo Times news page

Advertiser information Contact us Subscribe Work for us All information is subject to copyright 2015

Highlights

Latest Classified

Latest Classified

MERCEDES 7/8 HORSE LORRY Mercedes Atego 1223 high roof sleeper, HGV, plated till...
 Get into Polo

Get started in polo

Information on how to get started in polo
 Destination of the Month

The global game

Holidays and breaks playing or following polo around the world
 Wallpapers

Online magazine

Login to read current and back issues of the magazine
 Find your nearest club

Club contacts

Find your nearest polo club
Cookies in Use