Polo Times Magazine Subscribe to Polo Times Home
HomeNewsTournamentsClassifiedsAbout usSubscribeContact
 
 
 
 

Tue 15th Jan 2013

SUPA arena team defeated by USA

The USA prove too strong for SUPA Britain in California

THE USA CLAIMED victory over the British SUPA team in the international arena Test Match, at Empire Polo Club, California this weekend.

The SUPA university team of Alex Jacob from Royal Agricultural College, Sam Browne of the University of Cambridge and University College London's Charlie Scott and George Shelton were defeated by the USA Intercollegiate team, 18-8.

This was the first time SUPA have fielded an international arena team, and despite thrashing the University of South California 29-0 just days before the Test Match, the USA proved too strong for the British university side.

The team was coached by eight-goaler Sebastian Dawnay, who later won the Townsend Cup as part of the England team.

Photograph: The SUPA team with coach Seb Dawnay and SUPA chairman Charles Betz. By Lynn and Jim Bremner of PoloZONE.com


Follow Polotimes on Twitter
 

Other top stories


Wed 26th Apr 2017
US Open Championship
Valiente take the US crown from Orchard Hill

Tue 25th Apr 2017
St Andrews Charity Tournament
Royal Scots Dragoons Victorious Against St Andrews University

Mon 24th Apr 2017
New Addition to UK Club List
Moor Farm Polo Club Opens

Thu 20th Apr 2017
US Open Finalists Decided
Rematch of 2015 Final

Wed 19th Apr 2017
$100,000 World Cup Final
Palm Beach Illustrated Win at Grand Champions

Wed 12th Apr 2017
Brooke’s MyHackathon
Riding for a cause

Tue 11th Apr 2017
US Open Action Hots Up
Orchard Hill, Valiente and Flexjet Secure Wins

Mon 10th Apr 2017
UK High Goal Update
Line-ups for 22 Goal Season

Tue 4th Apr 2017
Travieso Rally to Victory
Molina Cup Runs into Overtime Thriller

Mon 3rd Apr 2017
Butler Handicap Final
Coca Cola Wins as 26 Goal Action Continues Stateside

Wed 29th Mar 2017
Dubai Challenge Cup
Finalists Decided

Tue 28th Mar 2017
SUPA Tri-Nations
England Triumph

Mon 27th Mar 2017
Victorious Valiente
USPA Gold Cup Win for Tournament Favourites

See all news in:


End of Polo Times news page

Advertiser information Contact us Subscribe Work for us All information is subject to copyright 2015

Highlights

Latest Classified

Latest Classified

Ben Hastie Photography Ben Hastie Photography - Equine & Countryside Photography...
 Get into Polo

Get started in polo

Information on how to get started in polo
 Destination of the Month

The global game

Holidays and breaks playing or following polo around the world
 Wallpapers

Online magazine

Login to read current and back issues of the magazine
 Find your nearest club

Club contacts

Find your nearest polo club
Cookies in Use